Yesterday’s Civics Question: In the rare case where the President and the Vice President can no longer serve, who becomes President?

Answer: The Speaker of the House is next in line for the Presidency, if the President and Vice President can no longer serve. Below is the actual Order of Presidential Succession:

# Office Current officer
1 Vice President of the United States Joe Biden (D)
2 Speaker of the House Paul Ryan (R)
3 President pro tempore of the Senate Orrin Hatch (R)
4 Secretary of State John Kerry (D)
5 Secretary of the Treasury Jacob Lew (D)
6 Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel (R)
7 Attorney General Eric Holder (D)
Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell (D)[a]
8 Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack (D)
9 Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker (D)
10 Secretary of Labor Thomas Perez (D)
11 Secretary of Health and Human Services Sylvia Mathews Burwell (D)
12 Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julián Castro (D)
13 Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx (D)
14 Secretary of Energy Ernest Moniz (D)
15 Secretary of Education Arne Duncan (D)
16 Secretary of Veterans Affairs Robert McDonald (R)
17 Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson (D)
[a] Naturalized U.S. citizen born in the United Kingdom.

President, serve, succession, Vice President

Thanks for visiting! Before you go...

...would you please consider sharing with your friends? Thank you so much!